Name Dropper has the built-in ability to move or copy files from one drive or folder to another. So does Windows… but Name Dropper has a built-in feature which automatically eliminates duplicate filenames! Interested? Read on, and be sure to take a look at the SmartName option below!
To get started, in the main Name Dropper window browse to the folder containing the files you want to move or copy then select the file(s) you wish to move or copy. Then click on the [Transfer] button. That brings you to the ‘Move or copy files’ window.
Click the [Choose Destination Folder] to tell Name Dropper where you want to move or copy the selected files. As you use Name Dropper, it will remember that last 15 folders chosen using this button. This will make it easier to choose often-used folders on your computer. If you’d like to clear this history, just click the [Clear History] button.
You will notice that there are several options available. Below is what they do:
If a file being moved or copied already exists in the destination folder…
( ) Ask if I want to overwrite the existing file – If a file being copied or moved shares the same name as a file in the destination folder, Name Dropper will ask you what to do. You can tell it to overwrite it, not to overwrite it, or cancel the entire operation.
( ) Never overwrite the existing file – If a file being copied or moved shares the same name as a file in the destination folder, Name Dropper will skip that file. It will not be copied or moved to the destination folder. The original file in the destination folder will remain the same, and the source file will remain where it is.
( ) Always overwrite the existing file – If a file being copied or moved shares the same name as a file in the destination folder, Name Dropper will automatically replace the existing file with the one being moved or copied. Name Dropper will NOT warn you about it. Use extreme caution if using this setting.
( ) Use SmartName – If a file being copied or moved shares the same name as a file in the destination folder, Name Dropper will automatically adjust the filename of the source file (the file being moved or copied) so that it does not overwrite an existing file in the destination folder. If SmartName does make changes to any filenames, the results of those changes will be shown after the copy or move operation is complete. Although this is not the default setting, it is the recommended setting, so long as you are familiar with how it works. Here’s how it works:
If the last character of the main portion of the filename (not the extension) is not a number, then a number is added to the end of the filename. If the last character of the main portion of the filename IS a number, Name Dropper searches backwards through the filename until it finds a non-numerical character. At this point in the filename, it inserts a new number, called a sub-series. Below are some examples:
Let’s say you are attempting to move a file called DSC0004.JPG, and it already exists in the destination folder. With SmartName, the filename will be changed to DSC010004.JPG. If that already exists, it would be named DSC020004.JPG, and so on. So long as the filenames contain a type of series #, as in the example, SmartName will always retain the order of the files up to 99 times for what was essentially the same filename!
If the file being moved does not have numbers at the end, then SmartName will just append the numbers to the end of the main portion of the filename. For example, MyPicture.JPG would be changed to MyPicture01.JPG. If that already existed, it would be named MyPicture02.JPG, and so on.
SmartName does not work well, however, if you use filenames that contain dates or time at the end of the filename. For example, MyPicture 2004-12-25.JPG would become MyPicture 2004-12-0125.JPG. Bear in mind, SmartName only changes the filename if the filename already exists in the destination folder. If you do use dates and/or time for filenames, you should not have duplicates.
Once you’ve decided on which option to use, select which mode to use. Move will move the selected file(s) to the destination folder and delete the original one from the source folder. Copy will copy the selected file(s) to the destination folder while leaving the original one in the source folder where it is.
When ready, simply click the [Transfer File(s)] button to move or copy the files.